Safety Certified Real-Time Kernels

SCIOPTA 61508 is a pre-emptive multi-tasking high performance real-time kernel which includes many built-in safety features.

As a direct message-passing kernel, SCIOPTA is very well suited to be used in safety-critical applications.

Safety-Certified Data Transfer
The SCIOPTA kernel can observe data transfer between processes by testing checksums over message data areas. These certified functions ease the workload of the designer of safety software considerably. Leaving this duty to the kernel results in shorter development time and reduced costs.

The SCIOPTA message consists of a header including the process ID of the sender, owner and addressee, a data area of any size and an end-mark which is checked by the kernel.

No Shared Memory
Shared memory is the standard method for interprocess communication in traditional real-time operating systems. The user is fully responsible to protect shared memory with semaphores and to associate semaphores with data areas and types.

There is no need for shared memory in a SCIOPTA system. Direct message passing is safer. All data is encapsulated inside messages and the kernel protects message data by controlling ownership.

Safe Memory Management
Processes can be grouped together into SCIOPTA modules. Each module can have up to 128 pools to hold SCIOPTA messages.

Modules and pools can be located in the same or in different memory segments. With the SCIOPTA Memory Management System (SMMS) and a Memory Management Unit (MMU) full memory protection can be achieved.

Certified by TÜV
SCIOPTA has been certified by TÜV in Munich to IEC61508/EN50128 to be used in system up to SIL3.


IEC 61508
IEC61508 is the international standard focusing on safety-related systems that incorporate electrical, electronic and/or programmable electronic (E/E/PE) instruments and devices.

Initially mainly used in the automation and process control industry, IEC61508 is more and more accepted for applications in other industries including automotive and medical where safety and reliability are paramount.

The 7 Parts of IEC 61508
IEC 61508-1, General require-ments
IEC 61508-2, Requirements for (E/E/PE) safety-related systems
IEC 61508-3, Software require-ments
IEC 61508-4, Definitions and abbreviations
IEC 61508-5, Examples of methods for the determination of safety integrity levels
IEC 61508-6, Guidelines on the application of IEC 61508- 2 and IEC 61508-3
IEC 61508-7, Overview of measures and techniques.

SCIOPTA Safety Kernel
The SCIOPTA Safety Kernel delivery contains the Certificate, the Certfication Report of Functional Safety and the Safety Manual, which provides guidance on how to safely use SCIOPTA.